IAW&A logo
Sign up for our
Email Newsletter
For Email Marketing you can trust

Board of Advisors

Pete Hamill
Alice McDermott
William Kennedy
Gabriel Byrne
Edward Burns
Ellen McCourt
Terry George
Alphie McCourt
Hillary Flynn
Fionnula Flanagan
Michael O'Keefe
Loretta Brennan-Glucksman
Thomas Kelly
Patricia Harty
Dan Barry
Brian Corrigan
Mick Moloney
Joe Quinlan

Welcome to the official website of
Irish American Writers & Artists, Inc.

IAWA Flag and Harp

Our Purpose

IAW&A is a non-profit organization dedicated to the celebration of Irish American writers, actors, musicians, filmmakers and artists both past and present. We are an INDEPENDENT and PROGRESSIVE collective dedicated to the principle that by promoting and appreciating creative expression, we can enhance the human condition. Our goal is to highlight the RICH TRADITION of Irish Americans in all manner of artistic endeavor in the United States, from the 19th Century to the present day.

Our Goals

IAW&A has established itself as a focal point for artists who would like to use their work to affect matters of culture, entertainment, politics and social justice. We stage events, sponsor readings, concerts and art exhibits, and hope to call attention to books, plays, movies, music and other works that reflect the STARTLING DIVERSITY of the Irish American experience.

Please enter the site and have a look around.

Irish American Writers & Artists, Inc Proudly Presents
The Event of the Year

John Patrick Shanley picture

Please join us to celebrate this year's honoree.

Pulitzer Prize, Academy Award and Tony Award Winner

Monday, October 21, 2013
from 6:00 to 9:00 PM
(upstairs at Rosie O’Grady’s)
800 7th Ave. (corner of 52nd St)
Times Square, Manhattan

Renowned playwright, screenwriter and movie director John Patrick Shanley, winner of the artistic "trifecta" of a Pulitzer Prize, an Oscar and a Tony Award will add the Eugene O'Neill Lifetime Achievement Award to his list of honors at the Irish American Writers & Artists annual celebration this fall. Shanley will receive his Tiffany award on Monday, October 21, 2013 during a festive evening in the Manhattan Club in the Times Square district, just a few blocks north of where O’Neill was born on October 16, 1888.

Few contemporary artists fit the criteria for the award as well as Shanley. He has written over 20 plays including Danny and the Deep Blue Sea and Savage in Limbo. For his play, Doubt, he received both a Tony and the Pulitzer Prize. As a screenwriter he received an Academy Award for best original screenplay for Moonstruck. The film version of Doubt, in which he directed Meryl Streep, Philip Seymour Hoffman and Amy Adams, was nominated for five Academy Awards, including Best Adapted Screenplay.

For more information about John Patrick Shanley and the Eugene O'Neill Lifetime Achievement Award, please click here to visit the Blog Page.

Admission to the Event

Please choose a payment option and hit Pay Now:

Includes open bar and hors ‘d oeuvres

To get the membership rate, you must have renewed your membership THIS YEAR.
If you have not already done so, please renew NOW at this link: $50 renewal.

There are no tickets. If you pay via this site, you will receive an automated notice of payment and your name will automatically be entered onto the admission list.

We are expecting this event to SELL OUT, so please RENEW YOUR MEMBERSHIP and place your admission order now!

If you wish to pay by check, send to:
Irish American Writers & Artists, Inc
511 Avenue of the Americas #304
New York, NY 10011

Contact IAW&A at:
johnleemedia@gmail.com, or iawritersandartists@gmail.com.